Record midi out of one track as midi input on another track? how to do that?

edited July 30 in General chat

Hello peeps.
I am new to NS2 and am used to Studio One on PC where I can assign the midi out of a track as the input to another track. Is there a way to do this on NS2?

Before someone suggests simply copying the clips on the one track to another track, this is fine usually but not when you have effects/players which exist on a track and when what you hear is more than what you see as events on the track.... for example, Scaler2... you can hear Scaler doing stuff that is more than just the midi notes you can see on the track.... so I'd want all that Scaler2 data, every separate audible note, to be recoded onto another track so I can edit it if needs be.

I know with scaler you can export by using the MIDI CAPTURE function, but this is clunky and I see it as a work-around... also some effects/players will not necessarily be able to export their midi data directly as Scaler2 can.

Thanks! Mark.

Comments

• I’ve never tried to do this so I may be wrong, but I don’t think this is possible. The “clunky” method of capturing MIDI with Scaler2 (I don’t use that either) and importing it may be the only method. Let us know how it goes, especially if you find a better work-around.

• edited July 31

You can probably do what you want with the free Streambyter app. Basically, you run it standalone outside of NS2 and it just sits there giving you something to send midi out of and back into NS2.

Check this Wiki article for a similar use case that you may be able to adapt to your usage. If not, or you need help, describe the Scaler 2 use you have in mind in detail, and I'll see if I can come up with a working configuration.